The Jennifer Connelly Memorial Crush-a-Thon

Today I’m excited to announce the start of a new guest blogger series here at Forgotten Films! I’m calling it the Jennifer Connelly Memorial Crush-a-Thon! What’s that mean, you ask? Well, in our pop culture obsessed world, I think just about everybody has had a celebrity crush. This series is all about those forgotten films that featured our celebrity crushes.

I was an awkward movie obsessed teenager, so I had many celebrity crushes. But there is one in particular that stands out. I can even tell you when it started…June 27, 1986. It was at the Stratford Square Mall in Bloomingdale, IL at the very first showing of “Labyrinth.” This movie was custom-made for me. It was directed by Muppet master Jim Henson…not only was I a huge fan, but I was also a young puppeteer myself. But the film was also executive produced by George Lucas…I’m also a big “Star Wars” fan…and it was written by Monty Python member Terry Jones… watching “Monty Python’s Flying Circus” on PBS was a Sunday night ritual for me. I remember the movie starting, the computer animated owl in the opening credits…oooooh, high-tech for 86! Then the credits ended and this beautiful girl walked onto the screen. From there, it didn’t matter how many cool puppets there were or what Pythonesque thing they were saying…I was pretty much focused on her. Of course, that was Jennifer Connelly, so it felt right to name this salute to our celebrity crushes after her.

I’ve got a great group of bloggers lined up to share their celebrity crushes…each in a review of a film you may have forgotten about. It’s a unique batch of films and a unique batch of crushes. I’m looking forward to sharing these great guest bloggers with my loyal readers. I also want to encourage readers to comment here with your own celebrity crushes. Enjoy the series!

7 thoughts on “The Jennifer Connelly Memorial Crush-a-Thon

  1. Everyone who reads my blog already knows about my slight obsession with Lacey Chabert.

    It technically started when I was a geeky sci-fi-loving young teenager whose favorite TV show was Lost in Space…I saw the LIS movie which was awful, but I didn’t mind.

    • It’s been a long time since I’ve watch the “Lost in Space” movie. I know I’ve got the DVD somewhere. It was a free one I got when I purchased my first DVD player.

  2. Apparently Jennifer Connelly wasn’t only being the one crushed on. If you bring up Labyrinth to friend of mine, she will not stop talking about David Bowie. Lol. I haven’t seen the movie, but I can’t blame her.

  3. I reciprocate your salutation to Jennifer Connelly – she really is the perfect film crush -, especially the inescapable shout-out to John Hughes’ chinese-whisper-of-a-film ‘Career Opportunities’. I recently sought it out, (to some difficulty – darn widescreen blu ray torrent’! Slow connection, 5 days wait! Worth it? … definitely.), because of the Connelly and Hughes names attached to it.

    While a shockingly flawed effort, precisely because she is the best thing about the film, and that the appeal it seems to have sought is based around her casting (that roller-blading MTV montage emphasizing the tight white shirt from the poster ‘in-motion’. Subtle.), it really memorialises Connelly’s young career in which she appeared in a host of often varied and strange films whose authorial machinery seemed to have a crush on her too. Having hammered through the list, I can’t reccomend Dario Argento’s ‘Phenomena’ enough. I really only watched it because of Jennifer (first name basis now…) but I am now an avid Argento fan. I even bought the poster by online artist Malleus! Thank you Jennifer. (To all Jennifer fans, every experience and performance featuring the perfect film crush in ‘Phenomena’ is exciting and funny, but director Argento’s reverence (however strange and occasionally misplaced) for Connelly really shines through as the major emotion. Also, you get to see her psychically control bugs, talk about her movie-star dad like a teen crush, fight a deformed child in a fiery lake, befriend a razor-wielding chimpanzee, talk sexy science with a 60-something wheelchair bound entomologist, crawl into a dark dirt tunnel to make a quick phone call while in a murder house, battle a poison pill head on in the same house’s bathroom through the power of the gag reflex; and scream while trying to escape a corpse and maggot filled vat – and her chronic Armani wardrobe! She literally wears nothing else! Amazing.)

    A really great idea for a series reviewing forgotten films, as sometimes the only reason we seek out, watch, and rave about such films is because of that one actor, playing the one character (perhaps a typecast and perhaps transcendent role) that immortalizes those films within out memory. I really mean this in the most commonplace way.

    Post Script: While I am young and saw Labyrinth in, like, 1999 (when I was ten or something), my experience is not disimilar to the one you described. But I saw Wolfgang Peterson’s ‘The Neverending Story’ first. And nothing will shake Tami Stronarch as the Childlike Empress from my mind as my first and most enduring movie crush. Despite it being her only film, I think she could have been a pretty good candidate for other 80’s kids and teen films. Maybe even Career Opportunities!

    Cheers for the most nostalgic blog entry I’ve encountered this year. And please add more reviews to this section!

    And review Phenomena!

Leave a Reply

