Crush-a-Thon: Teenage Bonnie and Klepto Clyde

Today’s crush comes to us courtesy of Brian Saur of Rupert Pupkin Speaks. Brian is my hero because he has a cool blog, he’s let me write for his blog not once but twice, and he’s met Eddie Deezen in person. His crush is actress Maureen Flannigan in the 1993 film, which has yet to be released on DVD, “Teenage Bonnie and Klepto Clyde.”

I was quite the TV junkie as a kid and this being the case, I stumbled across and often became hooked on many syndicated shows. Especially if the program featured a cute girl as the lead. One early crush for me was Patty Duke in her dual role on The Patty Duke Show. I adored her for a long time and spent many nights watching reruns on Nick at Nite. Another girl I adored was Ms. Maureen Flannigan from her role as Evie Ethel Garland on the show Out Of This World. In this role she played a girl who was half-alien and could stop time by putting her pointer fingers together (and start it again by clapping her hands). This gimmick gave way to many scenes which made use of that “frozen in time” effect…like those sculptures of spilled food which you could buy many variations of at Spencer’s Gifts. Anyway, it was a silly show which followed an even sillier show called Small Wonder (many people seem to recall Small Wonder fondly, but it was simply terrible). Out of This World wasn’t Emmy award winning comedy by any stretch, but I found it entertaining enough. Also, the supporting cast was rather interesting in that it included Donna Pescow (“Saturday Night Fever”), Doug McClure (“Humanoids from the Deep”) and Burt Reynolds himself as the voice of Evie’s dad! Anyway, the show inspired my then smitten-ing with Ms. Flannigan and so years later when I’d see the VHS cover for a movie called “Teenage Bonnie and Klepto Clyde.” I was immediately intrigued.

Said film, produced by the not necessarily venerable Trimark Entertainment (thought they did produce Noah Baumbach’s wonderful “Kicking and Screaming” among others) seemed to be a straight to video affair at the time, but that was no deterrent for me. It starred the aforementioned Ms. Flannigan and the then popular Scott Wolf (Party of Five) as the titular leads. It’s a pretty straightforward Bonnie and Clyde ripoff, but set in a modern context. Being that i wasn’t as familiar with the story or the original film at the time, this made an impression on me for sure. I recall the ending being particularly heartbreaking.

Watching the film now, it seems much less compelling, but there is something still about it that draws me in. I think a big part of it was seeing Maureen Flannigan, my innocent “girl crush” in a more adult, bad girl type role. There’s nudity too so that was very enticing. Certainly nostalgia plays a big role in my fondness for the movie. I’m reminded of a time when I was still figuring out what romance and sexuality were all about and what being in love and being loved were really like. In rewatching it now, I am a touch baffled with myself, but I can still recall that “golly ain’t she cute” feeling I got from watching Maureen Flannigan way back when…even when her acting left a little to be desired.

This trailer may or may not (most likely not) reveal some insight into my affection for this film: Trailer

Side Note: this movie made my list of “VHS Gems” (Favorites not yet on DVD) for a recent series I ran at my blog:
http://rupertpupkinspeaks.blogspot.com/2012/08/vhs-gems-series.html

One thought on “Crush-a-Thon: Teenage Bonnie and Klepto Clyde

  1. This might blow your mind a little – while Vidmark/Trimark did put this out on VHS, it was not produced by them, but in fact by our favorite prolific ’80’s showman, Menahem Golan, and his 21st Century Film Company. When he had a falling out with longtime partner/cousin Yoram Globus, he left Cannon, bought tiny distributor 21st Century, who had put out NIGHTMARE IN A DAMAGED BRAIN and 3D kung fu movie REVENGE OF THE SHOGUN WOMEN, and made it his new outfit. In the infamous dueling Lambada movies, Cannon put out LAMBADA while 21st Century put out THE FORBIDDEN DANCE.

    21st Century had been putting stuff out independently in theatres and through Columbia for VHS in the early ’90’s, but lost lots of money on expensive failures like their PHANTOM OF THE OPERA movie with Robert Englund and CAPTAIN AMERICA, not to mention their inability to launch a SPIDER-MAN movie. So in the mid-’90’s, he essentially sold a bunch of movies to Trimark before defaulting to Credit Lyonnais; another movie Trimark got was DEATH WISH 5: THE FACE OF DEATH, the final chapter.

    Most of the 21st Century titles went to MGM, ironically alongside the Cannon movies, but since this has not surfaced on cable or DVD like other 21st movies, I’m assuming maybe Lionsgate as Trimark’s inheritor controls it now.

Leave a Reply

