Announcement: 1984-a-Thon

1984_blogathonToday I’m thrilled to announce a new blog-a-thon that will be coming up later this summer. After having such great success with the Big League Blogathon back in April, I just couldn’t resist having another one.

This year is the 30th anniversary of what, in my opinion, is the greatest year in the history of film…1984. I know, I know…the snooty types usually say 1939. But I was a teenager in the 80’s and 84 was a phenomenal year. That year, more than any other, made me the film fan I am today. So many iconic 80’s movies were released that year: Ghostbusters, The Karate Kid, The Terminator, Beverly Hills Cop, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, Gremlins, Footloose, Amadeus, This is Spinal Tap, Sixteen Candles, Romancing the Stone…and that’s just the tip of the iceberg!

Therefore, Forgotten Films will be hosting The 1984-a-Thon celebrating the films of that incredible year. The event will take place August 25-31. If you are a movie or pop culture blogger I’d love to have you participate!

What I’m looking for are NEW reviews of films from 1984. I want to hit as many films from that year as we can, both the good ones and the bad ones. So that means no duplicate reviews, please. Come on, we can’t have everybody review Ghostbusters. Therefore I am asking participants to sign up for the blogathon and commit to a review of a specific film. You can find a great list of key films from 1984 here: 1984 in Film and an even more exhaustive list at the IMDB: 1984 Films. I need some of you to be brave and explore some more obscure titles and films you may have never seen, or heard of, before. Hey, that’s part of what movie blogging is all about!

I will be out trying to recruit some of you in the film blogging community, but consider this an open invitation. If you would like to participate, please send an e-mail to forgottenfilmcast@gmail.com with three possibilities for 1984 films you might like to review. I’ll work with you to narrow it down to one choice from there. I’ll also be updating this post with what films have been spoken for. Of course, I will be contributing several reviews of “forgotten” 1984 films throughout the event.

You’ve got more than two whole months to get ready for this one…so please join me in celebrating the films of 1984!

Current Number of Participating Bloggers: 115
Number of Films Being Covered: 135

Films Spoken For:
1984 – Let’s Go to the Movies
2010 – To the Escape Hatch
The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension – Your Face (Jason)
Against All Odds – E Street Film Society (Daniel)
All of Me – All Things Kevyn
Amadeus – Talkie Gazette
Angel –Ed South’s Wonderful World of Blog
Bachelor Party – The Deadrick Movie Night Podcast
Beat Street – Dell on Movies
Beverly Hills Cop – Man I Love Films (Justin)
Blame it on Rio- Critica Retro
Blood Simple – Your Face (Nick)
Body Double – The Nightmare Gallery
Boy Meets Girl – Pinnland Empire
The Bounty – Mr. Rumsey’s Film Related Musings
Breakin’ – Your Face (Nolahn)
Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo – Bury Me in Red Lipstick
Broadway Danny Rose – Durnmoose Movie Musings
The Brother from Another Planet – Two Dollar Cinema
Cannonball Run II – BetaMaxNights
Children of the Corn – Cinemaburn
Choose Me – The Pink Smoke
C.H.U.D. – Gorgon Reviews
Cloak & Dagger – Mike’s Cinema
Conan the Destroyer – French Toast Sunday (Sam)
The Cotton Club – The Rosebud Cinema
The Crazy Family – Coolsville
The Company of the Wolves – Assorted Buffery
Devil Fish – The Movie Rat
Dreamscape – Cold Slither
Dune – Large Popcorn, No Butter
Electric Dreams – You Don’t Know Flack
The Element of Crime- Karamel Kinema
Finders Keepers – Saturday Night at the World
Firstborn – Throwback Reviews Podcast
Firestarter – Coog’s Film Blog
Frankenstein’s Great Aunt Tillie – I Love Terrible Movies
Footloose – Flick Chicks
Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter – We Minored in Film
Garbo Talks – Citizen Screenings
Ghostbusters – Life Vs Film
Gremlins – A Redhead at the Movies
Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes – Public Transportation Snob
The Hit – Man I Love Films (Pete)
The Hotel New Hampshire – Scopophilia
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom – The Vern’s Video Vortex
The Initiation – Full Moon Reviews
Irreconcilable Differences – Moon in Gemini
Johnny Dangerously – Pre-Code.com
The Karate Kid – Today I Watched a Movie
The Killing Fields – Cinema Escapes
Killpoint – Chuck Norris Ate my Baby
The Last Starfighter – Brutal Beta
The Little Drummer Girl – Exploitation Retrospect
The Lonely Guy – Motion Picture Gems
Love Streams – Le Mot du Conephiliaque
Missing in Action – Joel Burman
Moscow on the Hudson – It Goes to 11
The Muppets Take Manhattan – The Roarbots
The Natural – Ten Stars or Less
Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind – Amateur Cinephile
The Neverending Story – French Toast Sunday (Nick)
A Nightmare on Elm Street – French Toast Sunday (Marc)
Night of the Comet – Cenobite Me
Ninja III: The Domination – Movie Fan Fare
Once Upon a Time in America – Destroy All Fanboys
Paris, Texas – Alcohollywood
A Passage to India – Sunset Boulevard
The Philadelphia Experiment – Parlor of Horror
Places in the Heart – Margaret Perry: Film History, Theory, and Criticism
Police Academy – Pop Culture Affidavit
The Pope of Greenwich Village – Prowler Needs a Jump
Purple Rain – The Vintage Cameo
Quilombo – The Cinematic Frontier
Razorback – Curnblog
The Razor’s Edge – Suddenly a Shot Rang Out
Red Dawn- French Toast Sunday (Will)
Repo Man – The Movie Waffler
Revenge of the Nerds – Hooray for Movies
Rhinestone – Mecha-Blog-Zilla
Romancing the Stone – Journeys in Classic Film
Runaway – Simplistic Reviews (Justin)
Scandalous – The MN Movie Man
Secret Honor – Classicblanca
Shanghai Blues – The End of Cinema
Sheena – Flights, Tights and Movie Nights
Silent Night, Deadly Night – Naptown Nerd
Sixteen Candles – Exploding Helicopter
A Soldier’s Story – Silver Screenings
Splash – 1001 Plus
Starman – Vic’s Movie Den
Star Trek III: The Search for Spock – Return to the 80’s
Stop Making Sense – This Must Be the Place
Stranger Than Paradise – Wide Screen World
Streets of Fire – From the Depths of DVD Hell
Streetwise – Cinema Enthusiast
Supergirl – The Awesome 80’s Podcast
Tank – E Street Film Society (Mike)
Teachers – Movie Rob
The Terminator – Films and Coke
This is Spinal Tap – Movies and Bacon
Tightrope – Hitchcock’s World
The Times of Harvey Milk – Film Grimoire
Top Secret! – The Droid You’re Looking For
The Toxic Avenger – Gore Girl’s Dungeon
Twist and Shout – Rambling Film
Under the Volcano – Sometimes They go to Eleven
The Warrior and the Sorceress – Cinemascuro
Weekend Pass – Cinema Monolith
Wheels on Meals – Random Pictures
Where the Green Ants Dream – Cinematic Catharsis
The Woman in Red – Girls Do Film
List of Underrated 1984 Movies – Rupert Pupkin Speaks
(Choose Me, Comfort and Joy, Nothing Lasts Forever, Secret Honor, Kidco)
The 1984 Best Picture Nominees – The Dew Over Podcast
The Movies of 1984 – Filmwhys Podcast

Films Being Reviewed at Forgotten Films (so far):
The 8 Diagram Pole Fighter
Best Defense
Cheech and Chong’s The Corsican Brothers
City Heat
The Evil that Men Do
The Flamingo Kid
Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis
Give My Regards to Broad Street
Grandview U.S.A.
Hardbodies
Hard to Hold
Hot Dog…The Movie
Iceman
The Ice Pirates
Just the Way You Are
Lassiter
Meatballs Part II
No Small Affair
Oxford Blues
The Party Animal
The Rosebud Beach Hotel
Special Effects
They’re Playing with Fire
Thief of Hearts

27 thoughts on “Announcement: 1984-a-Thon

Add yours

  1. I’d like to write about AMADEUS (1984), but I see that it is already taken. Every other film is also taken, so what I’ll do is write about AMADEUS and link back to your blogathon page, and I’ll just leave it to you if you feel generous enough to add me to your roster.

  2. I’ll write about Star Trek III if nobody else took it yet. It is very underrated, and gets unfairly bashed by Star Trek “fans”. I’ve watched the first 3 Trek films in the past couple of months. The Wrath of Khan had always been my favorite. But, after revisiting the film, it was more boring than I remember. There was actually a lot more action in The Search for Spock. So, I’d be willing to tackle this movie.

  3. Well, this does sound really tempting but I’m not sure what I can come up with. A lot of the ones I would have considered have already been taken so I’m not sure where to start looking, but if I find something I’d be willing to let you know. In the meantime I’ve got a few blogathons of my own if it’s of any interest:

    http://hitchcocksworld.blogspot.ca/2014/05/favorite-movie-scenes-blogathon.html

    http://hitchcocksworld.blogspot.ca/2014/06/women-in-film-blogathon.html

    http://hitchcocksworld.blogspot.ca/2014/06/blogathon-journey-across-cosmos-through.html

    I guess this serves me right for looking at periods of film more by decades rather than specific years.

    1. John…we can find you a film, I promise. Send me an e-mail using the address in the post above. Let’s try and figure something out for you!

  4. Aw man, I didn’t catch this in time, and now all the good films are gone…and all the bad ones too. Okay, maybe not all of them, but you know what I mean. Actually, to be honest, I would like to do something a bit different for my contribution. Over at my blog (All Things Kevyn) I do a lot of top ten lists. I also do a lot of top tens on other blogs as well. Anyhoo, what I am saying here is that I would like to do a top ten list as my contribution. A best/favourite films of 1984 list. Would this be something you would be willing to allow in your blogathon. If not, I understand. I’m still going to do said list at my blog (just because I love lists, and wish to start getting some best of the year lists under my so-called belt) so hopefully you will be willing to include it in your festivities. If not, no hard feelings. Thanx. Se ya ’round the web

  5. Great work on everything! The only problem is, for my review of “Rhinestone”, you have the link as THIS VERY PAGE!! 😛 Just a heads-up. If you need my link again, just tell me!

    – TGWD

      1. Ugh…I missed the part where you said you’d like to do Irreconcilable Differences. I’ll put you down for it! Glad to have you on board!

        Send me an e-mail at the address in the post above so I can send you some more information.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑